Upcoming Programs

 

 

Thursday, August 16 @ 7:00 pm - Author Neville D. Frankel presents "Under the Soviet Shadow: Where History Meets Fiction"

 

Emmy-award winning writer and Cape Cod author, Neville Frankel, discusses the well-researched family history that inspired his latest work of historical fiction, On the Sickle’s Edge. The novel has earned acclaim as a Finalist for the prestigious Book Club Award of the 2017 National Jewish Book Awards and is regarded by many readers as a companion piece to Amor Towles’ A Gentleman in Moscow. The talk also sheds deep insight into the author’s creative process as he discusses the delicate balance between integrating historical detail while remaining faithful to the family lore that inspired his novel.

 

 

Wednesday, August 22 @ 11:00 am - "Fifty-Plus Years of Broadway" with David Polansky

David Polansky will join us to present "Fifty-Plus Years of Broadway."  A musical journey made up of many of America's favorite broadway hits over an almost sixty year period that goes from 1921-1978.  David Polansky's music is frequently humorous, sometimes serious and always clever and engaging. Loved by everyone from preschoolers to grandparents, his songs have been compared to those of Stephen Soundheim and Tom Lehrer and have won numerous awards including the coveted Artists' Foundation Fellowship, Music City Song Festival, Sheet Music Magazine Grand Prize, and others. 

 

 

Saturday, September 8 @ 2:00 pm - Outermost Community Radio WOMR

Board director David Wilber and executive director John Braden of Outermost community radio WOMR will present "How we started, how we've grown, and where we're headed." Back in 1976 a small band of radio visionaries were inspired to create an independent station, in what many considered the outermost reaches of the contiguous United States, Provincetown, MA, a small fishing village with a notorious reputation for freedom.  Today that freedom is alive and well on the airwaves and WOMR (Outer Most Radio) is one of the nation's oldest and most successful community stations defined as radio that is noncommercial, locally oriented, programmed and supported.  While the national media has become corporized and prepackaged for mass audiences, WOMR remains the voice of our unique corner of the world, dedicated to creating community through media.  Whether you listen to the news on Friday, jazz in the afternoons, or big band and dixieland on the weekends; whether you're a connoisseur of the opera or a fan of our great local bands, WOMR reflects  your life because the DJs are your neighbors.  Come listen to our story.

 

Tuesday, September 11 @ 7:00 pm - Rum Running on Cape Cod with Don Wilding

During the era of Prohibition (1920-1933), rum running was big business on Cape Cod. Farmers and fishermen of the Cape took to the seas, heading offshore to "Rum Row" to bring the criminal yet coveted alcohol to the mainland under cover of darkness, while the possibility of being caught by the Coast Guard was always present. Busy harbors and remote estuaries, many of which are now popular tourist destinations, were all game for bringing the contraband ashore, while local law enforcement officials often turned a blind eye. Join Don for this comprehensive look at how "the Noble Experiment" turned into a profitable and potentially dangerous undertaking for many of the Cape's residents.  

Since the start of the millennium, Don Wilding has been telling stories of Cape Cod Outer Beach history through lectures, video, and the written word. An award-winning writer and editor for Massachusetts newspapers for 30 years, Don pens the popular “Shore Lore” history column for the Cape Codder newspaper of Orleans, and is the author of two books, “Henry Beston’s Cape Cod: How ‘The Outermost House’ Inspired a National Seashore,” for the Henry Beston Society, and "A Brief History of Eastham: On the Outer Beach of Cape Cod," from The History Press. Don has also been an instructor of Cape Cod history courses for the Open University of Wellfleet and Nauset Community Education.
 

Wednesday, September 19 @ 3:00 pm - Author Lisa Duffy presents The Salt House

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy. Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.

Lisa Duffy received her MFA in Creative Writing from The University of Massachusetts. She is a Pushcart Prize finalist, and her work can be found in the Drum Literary Magazine, So To Speak, The Breakwater Review, Let the Bucket Down, and elsewhere. Duffy is the founding editor of ROAR Magazine, a journal supporting women in the arts. A lifelong resident of Massachusetts, Duffy currently lives in the Boston area with her husband and three children. The Salt House is her first novel.

 

Tuesday, October 9 @ 7:00 pm - "On the Trail of Bonnie and Clyde" with Chris Daley

This lecture which is part travelogue and part history, will chronicle the story of Bonnie and Clyde separating the reality from the myth!  For years the public has been fascinated with the story of this Dust bowl Romeo and Juliet.  However much of what we know is mainly from the 1967 movie "Bonnie and Clyde" and more recently a highly fictionalized made for TV movie shown on A&E and the History Channel.  Much myth, conjecture and outright lies have grown up about the two Texas bandits, but when one delves into the true story of the two lovers, a much more interesting and human story emerges; much better than Hollywood was able to depict.  This one hour lecture will tell that story through the use of period photographs and movies plus modern photographs and video shot by Chris.  He traveled through the states of Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas, Oklahoma and Missouri on the "Trail of Bonnie and Clyde," photographing and making video of the sites of their homes, murders, robberies, shootouts and hideouts.  Along the way he met characters like L.J. "Boots" Hinton, the son of lawman Ted Hinton - a member of the posse that took down Bonnie and Clyde in 1934 and the mayor of dusty Kemp Texas who related a fascinating story of Bonnie's incarceration at the Kemp Calaboose.  Chris drove over 4,000 miles in search of the real Bonnie and Clyde.  Please join us as he takes you on the "Trail of Bonnie and Clyde."

 

Thursday, October 18 @ 7:00 pm - The Palentine Wreck: The Legends of the New England Ghost Ship with author Jill Farinelli

Two days after Christmas in 1738, a British merchant ship traveling from Rotterdam to Philadelphia grounded in a blizzard on the northern tip of Block Island, twelve miles off the Rhode Island coast. The ship carried emigrants from the Palatinate and its neighboring territories in what is now southwest Germany. The 105 passengers and crew on board—sick, frozen, and starving—were all that remained of the 340 men, women, and children who had left their homeland the previous spring. They now found themselves castaways, on the verge of death, and at the mercy of a community of strangers whose language they did not speak.

Rumors of what happened on the ship soon turned into stories and folklore. These stories were fueled by reports of a fiery ghost ship first seen drifting in Block Island Sound on the one-year anniversary of the wreck. These tales became known as the legend of the Palatine, the name given to the ship in later years, when its original name had been long forgotten. So how did the rumors begin? What really happened to the Princess Augusta and the passengers she carried on her final, fatal voyage? Through years of painstaking research, Jill Farinelli reconstructs the origins of one of New England’s most chilling maritime mysteries.

 

Tuesday, October 23 @ 7:00 pm - The Haunting of Cape Cod and the Islands by Barbara Sillery

Barbara Sillery's lively author presentation is a ghostly gallivant around the Cape.   Traveling from the upper to the lower Cape, the author of The Hauntings of Cape Cod and the Islands, will introduce a little girl ghost, a sea captain and his wife, as well as a female ghost who is on the lookout for fires.  Sharing images from these intriguing chapters of her book, she will delve into the history behind the mystery of Cape Cod's historic sites.  Audience participation is encouraged and rewarded with a few prizes.  Questions at the end of the talk are welcome.

Barbara Sillery is an award-winning television producer, writer and director with over four dozen documentaries and features for PBS stations across the country.  She is the author of four "haunting" folklore books and is a member of Sisters in Crime, PEN Women and serves on the board of the Falmouth Museums on the Green and the Cape Cod Writers Center.  Visit her monthly blog on her website: www.barbarsillery.com

 

Friday, November 30 @ 2:00 pm - Holiday Card making with Sharleen Luciano

Join Stamp with Shar independent Stampin' Up demonstrator Sharleen Luciano to put your crafty skills to work and make four beautiful holiday cards. She will provide the supplies for the project and lend her expertise, you just need to bring your creativity and enthusiasm. Your friends and relatives will be impressed with your handmade cards! There is no charge for the class, but we are limited to 10 spots. Registration is required

 

Monday, December 3 @ 3:00 pm - Holiday Harvest: Celebrating the Holiday Harvest with Klassic Kreations

In this workshop with Kim Larkin from Klassic Kreations you will be ready to celebrate the holiday season with a lovely eye catching three table display. Kim will show you how to construct a fun, colorful buffet, tablescaping techniques 101, healthy recipe handouts, easy wine/spirit recommendations, cheeseboard primer, and easy entertaining ideas. Samplings of fine chocolates , chocolate Harvest bark, fun virgin beverages and more. Fun poetry and trivia quiz too! A great program to help you prepare for your holiday entertaining!  Space is limited to 45 participants.   Registration is required.

Ebook Classes

Kindle Reader Ebook Demopaperwhite

Next date TBA.  

Reference Librarian Amy Andreasson will present instructions for downloading free library ebooks to your Kindle and tips for searching the Clams digital library site. Bring your questions regarding your Kindle, or call Amy for an individual appointment (508-945-5170) if you need additional or extended help. Registration is required. Register online or call the library at 508-945-5170.

iPad Ebook Demoipad image

Next Date TBA

Reference Librarian Amy Andreasson will present instructions for downloading free library ebooks to your iPad and tips for searching the Clams digital library site and Hoopla. Bring your questions regarding your iPad, or call Amy for an individual appointment (508-945-5170) if you need additional or extended help. Registration is required. Register online or call the library at 508-945-5170.